Award for a digital idealists

Award for a digital idealists

“The free culture is an illusion, someone always pays” – there are sentences like this, you get to listen to, if you look today, with Jaron Lanier below. Lanier, 54, is one of the sharpest critics of the digital Economy, in the process, he has worked for many years in Tech companies. At the beginning of the Eighties about Lanier was for the consumer electronics group Atari active. He is considered a pioneer of the early years of the Internet, as one of those who coined the term Virtual reality.

At the conclusion of the Frankfurt book fair Lanier was awarded the peace prize of the German book trade. Lanier draw urgent “on the dangers that threaten our open society, if you will be deprived of the Power of design”, – stated in the explanatory statement of the Board of Trustees. His most recent book, “Who owns the future” belongs to will be to a call alert to a lack of freedom, misuse, and Monitoring.

Lanier criticized the business model of Internet companies such as Google and Facebook, the mass-collect the personal data of Internet users and the associated range for advertising. The wealth will be concentrated in the hands of a few entrepreneurs, fear Lanier, while the width center of the company with nothing. “We need a new kind of Balance,” said Lanier in Frankfurt.

He sees himself as a “digital idealists”

The writer argues for the gradual introduction of a new model of the Internet economy in which the private copyright information for each call of your data is to be tempered with small amounts of ways. In an Interview with the newspaper “The world” says Lanier, he was not a cultural critic or Internet theorist, but simply “a thinking of the practitioners”. In his latest book, he calls himself a “digital idealists”.

Lanier’s prize, the peace prize, which was announced in June, just came across it on the Internet on criticism. Jürgen Geuter, the appearance in the Internet under the name aunt, wrote in a commentary, the price for Lanier was the announcement of “a fight to the ‘power of Everybody'”, “He is a rejection of ideas as open source and Crowdsourcing, a claim and a return to the traditional Power and production structures.”

Jaron Lanier came in 1960 in New York to the world. His mother fled from the persecution of the Nazis in Vienna, his father’s family from the Ukraine. At the age of 13, he enrolled in Mathematics courses, at the University of the U.S. state of New Mexico.

The Software-development, he will leave, in the meantime, Younger, said Lanier in Frankfurt. He was currently busy with a variety of projects. In the research division of Microsoft, he is involved in the development of applications for the recognition of body movements.

Away from his duties as a computer scientist, author and lecturer Lanier is also instrument collector and composer. His love is especially rare wind and string instruments from Asia. So, he brought to the book fair an ancient bamboo wooden flute from Laos, a Khaen.

In his speech at the award ceremony in the Paulskirche in Frankfurt Lanier said he had still greater joy of technology, as he could Express. Nevertheless, he write books, to take a look at the big picture. “On the Internet there are also many comments on the Internet, such as pornography and cat photos, but in reality, only to media outside of the Internet – particularly books – perspectives and syntheses can show,” said Lanier. “This is one of the reasons why the Internet should not be the only communications platform.”

One of the most important cultural awards

With its peace prize of the German book trade in honors since 1950, personalities, working for international understanding, goodwill, and humanity. The prize is awarded, which is considered one of the most important awards of Germany, from the stock exchange Association of the German book trade. The award is endowed with € 25,000.

Among the most famous peace prize winners Albert Schweitzer (1951), Hermann Hesse (1955), Astrid Lindgren (1978), Siegfried Lenz (1988), Vaclav Havel (1989) and Mario Vargas Llosa (1996). In the past year, the prize was awarded to the Belarusian writer Svetlana Alexievich.

Go to our cases Get a free quote